Quick Links

Quick Links

GSO Test

Early Years Foundation Stage

At Divine Saviour we follow the Early Years Foundation Stage Curriculum. It is called the Foundation Stage as it gives a solid ‘foundation’ from which to build upon your child’s learning. We believe in providing a secure foundation for future learning and development for each and every child, taking their starting point into consideration. We continuously encourage and nurture children to be independent, curious, creative and resilient learners who show respect for each other, their communities and the environment which God created for us.

Our aim is to make every child’s learning experience exciting and enjoyable by delivering a creative and stimulating curriculum, based on the skills and outcomes highlighted in the Early Years Framework. Wherever possible, learning will be linked to the interests of the children as well as providing insights and experiences of the wider world around them. Further to this, our teaching and learning approach aims to develop children’s communication skills, ensuring that they know how to appropriately express themselves, share their opinion and feel heard.

We recognise the importance of not only building a strong foundation of learning, but also strong foundations of positive relationships between the child, their family and the school. Through this, we aim to ensure that pupils feel valued as an individual created by God, are empowered to meet their own needs and enjoy their learning experience whilst achieving the Early Years Learning Goals (ELGs)

  • Phonics is taught daily using the Little Wandle scheme, this scheme continues into Key Stage One.
  • We introduce maths concepts through play experiences and through some short, adult led sessions. 
  • We plan using all areas, including outdoors. Staff take into account the individual needs, interests, and stage of development of each child in their care, and use this information to plan a challenging and enjoyable experience.


Areas of Learning

Reception Class follow the Early Years Curriculum which is split into seven areas of learning. 

There are 3 prime areas of learning. Three areas are particularly important for building a foundation for igniting children’s curiosity and enthusiasm for learning, forming relationships and thriving. These prime areas are:

  • Personal, social and emotional development (which is all about getting along with others, sharing and taking turns)
  • Communication and Language (speaking and listening)
  • Physical development (this includes pencil control)

Children are also supported in four Specific Areas, through which the three Prime Areas are strengthened and applied. The Specific Areas are:

  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Understanding the World
  • Expressive Arts and Design

We teach these areas through adult-led activities and child- initiated learning (Busy Time). This ensures appropriate differentiation and challenge for all children. During Busy Time, children have access to a variety of areas both within the classroom and in the outdoor area to support their learning and develop their curiosity. These areas are enhanced with resources to challenge and stretch children’s learning. The children are also able to select from a range of free-access resources to enable them to relate their learning to their own interests.


More about Early Years at DSS

Click here to view the Reception Class page.

Click here to view Reception Class admissions.

Click here to view our curriculum overview document 

Click here to view our EYFS policy 

Click here to view the 'What to expect guide' for parents